dishfasad.blogg.se

Airline guitar pickups
Airline guitar pickups










airline guitar pickups airline guitar pickups

Put something non-ferrous in-between the magnet and the slugs. The wires are extremely thin, and if you break any you may be in for a world of pain to fix it!

#Airline guitar pickups mod#

The “half-air” mod lowers the pickup output, and opens up the tone a bit, eliminating some of the lows, and increasing some of the highs.Īs always, take particular care when working with the insides of pickups. this results in an open sounding pickup with increased sustain. This idea is based on the “Air” range of DiMarzio pickups, where the magnet does not touch any of the pole-pieces. The “half-air” mod involves removing the bar around the screw pole-pieces in a humbucker, and sticking the magnet directly to the screws themselves, eliminating the contact the magnet makes with the lugs on the other coil. This opened up my pickup a little, and tamed the wild output somewhat, but it was still a little too thick, especially while picking on the low E string. I installed a ceramic pickup, as per the instructions in one of my previous posts on magnet changes in pickups. The Motherbuckers are also extremely high-output pickups. I have always found that this guitar, which has a very dark and prominent low-end tone sounded way too thick with the Motherbuckers in. I have a Saga PRS-style kit guitar that I put together several years ago, which I had installed Mighty Mite Motherbuckers in to. I thought that before I pulled apart the Tone Zone that I might try it on a cheaper pickup in a guitar I don’t use so much. I was curious about it as I was wanting to find a way to get rid of some of the boomy low-end that the Tone Zone produces, and thought I might try the mod just in case I had no luck sorting it out by adjusting the pickup heights, etc. After installing my DiMarzio Tone Zone in to my Ibanez 20th Ann RG550RFR, I had been reading about the “half-air” mod, which quite a few people have performed on their Tone Zones.












Airline guitar pickups